Ah yes, we begin again

Standard

Biggie’s back!

He took a month-long vacation to be with his cousins in upstate New York, and I made a weekend trip with JB to New York City to rendezvous with my sister-in-law and her clan to retrieve him from his reverie.

It’s been a long, lazy summer. I’ve allowed myself to let things lie fallow and weed over. I’ve enjoyed being more present, especially with JB. And I’ve started to collect and organize my notes on things I’ve learned over this past year.

I’m eager to share them and start on a number of things, but I’m going to try to rein in my manic impulses a little. I’m putting myself on a schedule to tackle one habit each week, to build up incrementally to a sturdy foundation of routines and practices.

This week: catechism questions and daily reflections. Okay, that’s two, but they’re so important that I feel I need to get started with both of them.

Every morning I do a little devotion with Biggie around the Westminster Shorter Catechism. And every evening I make a note of what transpired during the day.

It seems to me that the first steps out of inertia has to be a hedge against inert-ness. A life a little less thoughtless and a little more connected to basic principles and values.

One thought on “Ah yes, we begin again

Leave a Reply

