Three Quick Book Recommendations

Standard

I often encounter gems in the library, and there’s three recent checkouts that stand out for me:

All the Small Poems and Fourteen More by Valerie Worth

Valerie Worth is well-known as an esteemed poet in YA circles, but she deserves even wider recognition. Her poems are jewels.

Tinkerlab: A Hands-On Guide for Little Inventors by Rachelle Doorley

There’s lots of “maker” parenting books out there now, but this one is targeted for kids under 6 and is chock full of activities and practical advice. I’m so impressed with it that I’m going to get buy myself a copy to have handy.

Giant Days by John Allison and Lissa Treiman

This is a comic book with a more mature slant suited for older teens or adults, but I probably wouldn’t mind if I found Biggie reading it. I got the same exhilaration and joy reading it as when I picked up Love + Rockets in college. I don’t know how Allison does it, but he captures something authentic about these young British women in college. At the same time it’s got such verve and fun and style. New guilty pleasure.

Leave a Reply

