Dear Diary: School’s out. Now what?

Standard

I count down the clock all day long for winter break to start. I then go home, eat a bowl of cereal, read comic books, pig out on chocolate, and fall asleep.

I picked up a few books from the library, including the aforementioned comic books (I could not believe the Philadelphia Free Library had graphic novels of The Planetary and Doom Patrol — too cool), and two books of short stories:

Neil Gaiman – Fragile Things
Haruki Murakami – The Elephant Vanishes

The Gaiman book is relatively new and the Murakami book has been around a while. I haven’t read Haruki Murakami since A Wild Sheep Chase, and a quick perusal of his short stories has got me excited all over again.

One of my students has recommended to me The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zuton. What are you guys reading for the holidays?

Leave a Reply

