Furniture Moved

Standard

Okay, so I promised myself that I’m not going to sleep tonight without announcing some changes on my blog.

I’ve given some thought about who the audience of my blog my be, could be and what they might want, could want. When the “Hello, World” for tomkim.wordpress.com was raised, I hadn’t really expected my students and (my own) parents to find it and read it.

Not that that should change things, but it does.

Once summer gave out, I’ve had less time to post regular thoughts, and my work week being what it is, I’ve discovered all over how hard it is for me to squeeze a thought out. You’d think I’d be more sympathetic of my students, but hey — I’ve paid my dues, haven’t I?

Judging from a quick glance at my blog stats… well, I don’t know what the heck that graph means. But I’m just going to take the mindset that I’m going to have to build my readership up from its foundation. I’m going to make more of an effort to keep an audience in mind, and keep the purpose of this blog a little more focused.

In other words, I’m going to try to make this less a vanity site and play more to my strengths when it comes to others.

Now I’m not an early adopter by any means, but among my group of friends and acquaintances, I’m a little bit ahead of the curve when it comes to the float of information on the Net. (Heck, by simply knowing what an RSS feed is, I’m ahead of the curve.)

I guess in the schema of Tipping Point roles, I’m sort of a potential Maven.

So I’m going to have daily (okay, few times weekly, knock on wood) posts that filter out the more interesting stuff that comes across my browser:
– Hear Ye: links to podcasts and music blogs
– Feed Me: links to articles and web sites of interest

And for those interested in the daily minutiae of my life, a daily summary:
– Dear Diary

One of the more enjoyable aspects of my life is the weekly creative writing workshops I have with the Liberties Scribblers. Every meeting has a short 20-minute freewriting session that usually produces from moi embarrassingly humble cul-de-sacs:
– Scribbles

Hopefully, I’ll occasionally rub enough neurons together to post something more substantial. Maybe reviews. Maybe reflections. Maybe even student work (anonymous of course).

Since I know there’s a few students out there who occasionally read this blog, I’m going sneak away to an undisclosed location to rant a little more freely about my classroom shenanigans.

Oh, and in a desperate attempt to generate more interactivity here, I’m going to give away a mid-tri mix CD to my favorite comment. Trimester 2 started yesterday.

One thought on “Furniture Moved

  1. Want to start your private office arms race right now?

    I just got my own USB rocket launcher 🙂 Awsome thing.

    Plug into your computer and you got a remote controlled office missile launcher with 360 degrees horizontal and 45 degree vertival rotation with a range of more than 6 meters – which gives you a coverage of 113 square meters round your workplace.
    You can get the gadget here: http://tinyurl.com/2qul3c

    Check out the video they have on the page.

    Cheers

    Marko Fando

    Like

Leave a Reply

