Changing the Blanket

Standard

“Get your leg back under the blanket,” said Dana, peevishly.

“No!” said I, petulantly.

“Do it or I will change blankets,” said Dana, menacingly.

“Waah!” said I, impudently. But I quickly swung my leg below the blanket.

Beat.

“Just a minute. Does this new blanket have spikes or something?”

“No.”

“Then how is that a threat? Why should I be afraid of you changing the blanket?”

“It’s not what I say, but how I say it.”

I wonder if this is something I could use in the classroom: “Neil, be quiet or I’ll give you an eraser.”

behavior management, adverbs, humor?

Leave a Reply

